Faculty

Faculty members in the Bren School are of national and international renown, including ACM and IEEE Fellows, AAAI Career Fellow and many respected authors, leaders and directors of preeminent research and academic endeavors.

Despite an exhaustive list of accolades, the most notable trait of each faculty member is the unparalleled commitment to teaching and instruction as demonstrated in the classroom.

The Bren School is recruiting faculty at all levels of tenure. For information on faculty opportunities, please visit the employment page.


A| B| C| D| E| F| G| H| I| J| K| L| M| N| O| P| Q| R| S| T| U| V| W| X| Y| Z|

Computer Science | Informatics | Statistics | Complete list

photo::Shannon Alfaro Shannon Alfaro
Continuing Lecturer
Department: Computer Science
Email: alfaro@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9544
Office: DBH 4208
Learn more
photo::Ardalan Amiri Sani Ardalan Amiri Sani
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Embedded Systems
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: ardalan@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6753
Office: DBH 3062
Learn more
photo::Pierre Baldi Pierre Baldi
Chancellor's Professor, Director Institute for Genomics and Bioinformatics
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Biomedical Informatics and Computational Biology
Databases and Data Mining
Environmental Informatics
Statistics and Statistical Theory

Department: Computer Science
Email: pfbaldi@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5809
Office: DBH 4038
Learn more
photo::Lubomir Bic Lubomir Bic
Professor
Research Area: Networks and Distributed Systems
Department: Computer Science
Email: bic@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5248
Office: DBH 3224
Learn more
photo::Elaheh (Eli) Bozorgzadeh Elaheh (Eli) Bozorgzadeh
Associate Professor
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Department: Computer Science
Email: eli@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8860
Office: DBH 3092
Learn more
photo::Anton Burtsev Anton Burtsev
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Research Area: Operating Systems
Department: Computer Science
Email: aburtsev@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6753
Office: DBH 3066
Learn more
photo::Michael Carey Michael J Carey
Bren Professor
Research Area: Databases and Data Mining
Department: Computer Science
Email: mjcarey@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2302
Office: DBH 2091
Learn more
photo::Rina Dechter Rina Dechter
Chancellor's Professor; Vice Chair Computing Division, Computer Science
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Department: Computer Science
Email: dechter@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6556
Office: DBH 4232
Learn more
photo::Michael Dillencourt Michael Dillencourt
Professor
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: dillenco@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-7556
Office: DBH 4086
Learn more
photo::Nikil Dutt Nikil Dutt
Chancellor's Professor
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Embedded Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: dutt@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-7219
Office: DBH 3091
Learn more
photo::Magda El Zarki Magda El Zarki
Professor
Research Area: Multimedia Computing
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: elzarki@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 228-8584
Office: DBH 3216
Learn more
photo::David Eppstein David Eppstein
Chancellor's Professor
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Computer Graphics and Visualization

Department: Computer Science
Email: eppstein@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6384
Office: DBH 4082
Learn more
photo::Charless Fowlkes Charless Fowlkes
Associate Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Biomedical Informatics and Computational Biology
Computer Vision

Department: Computer Science
Email: fowlkes@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6945
Office: DBH 4076
Learn more
photo::Michael Franz Michael Franz
Chancellor's Professor, Director: Secure Systems and Languages Laboratory
Research Area: Programming Languages and Systems
Security and Privacy
Software Engineering

Department: Computer Science
Email: franz@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-0016
Office: ICS 444
Learn more
photo::Irene Gassko Irene Gassko
Lecturer
Department: Computer Science
Email: igassko@uci.edu
Phone:
Office: ICS 424
Learn more
photo::Tony Givargis Tony Givargis
Professor
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Embedded Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: givargis@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9357
Office: DBH 3076
Learn more
photo::Michael Goodrich Michael T. Goodrich
Chancellor's Professor
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Computer Graphics and Visualization

Department: Computer Science
Email: goodrich@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9366
Office: DBH 4091
Learn more
photo::Ian Harris Ian G. Harris
Professor; Vice Chair of Undergraduate Studies, Computer Science
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Embedded Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: harris@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8842
Office: DBH 3088
Learn more
photo::Wayne Hayes Wayne Hayes
Associate Professor
Research Area: Biomedical Informatics and Computational Biology
Scientific and Numerical Computing

Department: Computer Science
Email: wayne@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-1753
Office: DBH 4092
Learn more
photo::Daniel Hirschberg Daniel S. Hirschberg
Professor, Irvine Senate Parliamentarian
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Department: Computer Science
Email: dan@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6480
Office: DBH 4226
Learn more
photo::Alexander Ihler Alexander Ihler
Associate Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Department: Computer Science
Email: ihler@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-3645
Office: DBH 4066
Learn more
photo::Sandy Irani Sandy Irani
Professor
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Department: Computer Science
Email: irani@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6346
Office: DBH 4042
Learn more
photo::Ramesh Jain Ramesh Jain
Bren Professor
Research Area: Computer Vision
Multimedia Computing

Department: Computer Science
Email: jain@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-0133
Office: DBH 3222
Learn more
photo::Stanislaw Jarecki Stanislaw Jarecki
Professor
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Department: Computer Science
Email: stasio@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8878
Office: DBH 4026
Learn more
photo::Scott Jordan Scott Jordan
Professor
Research Area: Networks and Distributed Systems
Department: Computer Science
Email: sjordan@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2177
Office: DBH 3214
Learn more
photo::David Kay David G. Kay
Senior Lecturer SOE
Department: Informatics
Email: kay@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5072
Office: DBH 5056
Learn more
photo::Dennis Kibler Dennis Kibler
Professor Emeritus
Department: Computer Science
Email: kibler@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-0016
Office: DBH 4072
Learn more
photo::Ray Klefstad Ray Klefstad
Lecturer SOE
Research Area: Embedded Systems
Networks and Distributed Systems
Programming Languages and Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: klefstad@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6753
Office: ICS 424
Learn more
photo::Alfred Kobsa Alfred Kobsa
Professor
Research Area: Computer-Supported Cooperative Work
Human Computer Interaction
Medical Informatics
Ubiquitous Computing

Department: Informatics
Email: kobsa@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 485-5020
Office: DBH 6091
Learn more
photo::Richard Lathrop Richard Lathrop
Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Biomedical Informatics and Computational Biology

Department: Computer Science
Email: rickl@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-4021
Office: DBH 4224
Learn more
photo::Marco  Levorato Marco Levorato
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Networks and Distributed Systems
Statistics and Statistical Theory

Department: Computer Science
Email: levorato@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2175
Office: DBH 3206
Learn more
photo::Chen Li Chen Li
Professor
Research Area: Databases and Text Processing
Department: Computer Science
Email: chenli@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9470
Office: DBH 2092
Learn more
photo::George Lueker George S. Lueker
Professor Emeritus
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Department: Computer Science
Email: lueker@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5866
Office: DBH 4206
Learn more
photo::Aditi Majumder Aditi Majumder
Professor
Research Area: Computer Graphics and Visualization
Computer Vision

Department: Computer Science
Email: majumder@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8877
Office: DBH 4056
Learn more
photo::Gopi Meenakshisundaram Gopi Meenakshisundaram
Professor, Assoc. Dean for Student Affairs
Research Area: Computer Graphics and Visualization
Computer Vision

Department: Computer Science
Email: gopi@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9498
Office: DBH 4212
Learn more
photo::Sharad Mehrotra Sharad Mehrotra
Professor
Research Area: Databases and Data Mining
Multimedia Computing
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: sharad@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5975
Office: DBH 2082
Learn more
photo::Eric Mjolsness Eric Mjolsness
Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Biomedical Informatics and Computational Biology
Computer Vision
Scientific and Numerical Computing

Department: Computer Science
Email: emj@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-3533
Office: DBH 6082
Learn more
photo::Alexandru Nicolau Alexandru Nicolau
Professor, Department Chair
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Embedded Systems
Programming Languages and Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: nicolau@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-4079
Office: DBH 3082
Learn more
photo::Marios Papaefthymiou Marios Papaefthymiou
Ted and Janice Smith Family Foundation Dean and Professor of Computer Science
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: marios@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-7405
Office: DBH 6215
Learn more
photo::Richard Pattis Richard E Pattis
Senior Lecturer SOE
Department: Computer Science
Email: pattis@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2704
Office: DBH 4062
Learn more
photo::Amelia Regan Amelia C. Regan
Professor
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: aregan@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2611
Office: DBH 4068
Learn more
photo::Isaac Scherson Isaac D. Scherson
Professor
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Embedded Systems
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: isaac@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8144
Office: ICS 464C
Learn more
photo::Sameer Singh Sameer Singh
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Databases and Data Mining
Scientific and Numerical Computing

Department: Computer Science
Email: sameer@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6753
Office: DBH 4204
Learn more
photo::Padhraic Smyth Padhraic Smyth
Professor, Director, UCI's Data Science Initiative
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Databases and Data Mining
Scientific and Numerical Computing
Statistics and Statistical Theory

Department: Computer Science
Email: smyth@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2558
Office: DBH 4216
Learn more
photo::Thomas Standish Thomas A. Standish
Professor Emeritus
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Department: Computer Science
Email: standish@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 497-3064
Office: DBH 3029
Learn more
photo::Erik Sudderth Erik Sudderth
Associate Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Computer Vision
Statistics and Statistical Theory

Department: Computer Science
Email: sudderth@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8169
Office: DBH 4028
Learn more
photo::Alex Thornton Alex Thornton
Continuing Lecturer
Department: Computer Science
Email: thornton@ics.uci.edu
Phone:
Office: DBH 4048
Learn more
photo::Gene Tsudik Gene Tsudik
Chancellor's Professor; Vice Chair of Graduate Studies, Computer Science
Research Area: Security
Privacy and Cryptography

Department: Computer Science
Email: gts@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-3410
Office: ICS 458E
Learn more
photo::Vijay Vazirani Vijay Vazirani
Distinguished Professor
Department: Computer Science
Email: vazirani@uci.edu
Phone:
Office: DBH 4032
Learn more
photo::Alexander Veidenbaum Alexander Veidenbaum
Professor
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Databases and Data Mining
Programming Languages and Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: alexv AT ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6188
Office: DBH 3056
Learn more
photo::Nalini Venkatasubramanian Nalini Venkatasubramanian
Professor
Research Area: Multimedia Computing
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: nalini@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5898
Office: DBH 2086
Learn more
photo::Zhenping Wu Zhenping Wu
Lecturer
Department: Computer Science
Email: zhenpinw@uci.edu
Phone:
Office: ICS 424
Learn more
photo::Xiaohui Xie Xiaohui Xie
Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Biomedical Informatics and Computational Biology
Medical Informatics

Department: Computer Science
Email: xhx@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9289
Office: DBH 4058
Learn more
photo::Harry Xu Harry Xu
Associate Professor
Research Area: Programming Languages and Systems
Software Engineering

Department: Computer Science
Email: harry.g.xu@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8870
Office: DBH 3212
Learn more
photo::Shuang Zhao Shuang Zhao
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Computer Graphics and Visualization
Department: Computer Science
Email: shz@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-4942
Office: DBH 4214
Learn more