Faculty

Faculty members in the Bren School are of national and international renown, including ACM and IEEE Fellows, AAAI Career Fellow and many respected authors, leaders and directors of preeminent research and academic endeavors.

Despite an exhaustive list of accolades, the most notable trait of each faculty member is the unparalleled commitment to teaching and instruction as demonstrated in the classroom.

The Bren School is recruiting faculty at all levels of tenure. For information on faculty opportunities, please visit the employment page.


A| B| C| D| E| F| G| H| I| J| K| L| M| N| O| P| Q| R| S| T| U| V| W| X| Y| Z|

Computer Science | Informatics | Statistics | Complete list

photo::Rebecca Black Rebecca Black
Associate Professor
Department: Informatics
Email: rwblack@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-0592
Office: DBH 5072
Learn more
photo::Geoffrey Bowker Geoffrey C Bowker
Donald Bren Professor in Information and Computer Sciences
Department: Informatics
Email: gbowker@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-4558
Office: DBH 5091
Learn more
photo::Yunan Chen Yunan Chen
Associate Professor; Vice Chair for Undergraduate Affairs, Informatics
Research Area: Human Computer Interaction
Medical Informatics

Department: Informatics
Email: yunanc@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-0959
Office: DBH 6099
Learn more
photo::Darren Denenberg Darren Denenberg
Lecturer
Department: Informatics
Email: darren.denenberg@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2901
Office: DBH 5044
Learn more
photo::Paul Dourish Paul Dourish
Chancellor's Professor, Associate Dean for Research
Research Area: Computer-Supported Cooperative Work
Environmental Informatics
Human Computer Interaction
Medical Informatics
Social Informatics
Ubiquitous Computing

Department: Informatics
Email: jpd@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8127
Office: DBH 5086
Learn more
photo::Julian Feldman Julian Feldman
Professor Emeritus
Department: Informatics
Email: feldman@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2901
Office: DBH 5029
Learn more
photo::Judith Gregory Judith Gregory
Associate Adjunct Professor
Department: Informatics
Email: judithgr@uci.edu
Phone: (312) 315-3371
Office: DBH 6093
Learn more
photo::Gillian Hayes Gillian R Hayes
Robert A. and Barbara L. Kleist Professor, Vice Chair of Graduate Affairs, Informatics
Research Area: Computer-Supported Cooperative Work
Human Computer Interaction
Medical Informatics
Social Informatics
Ubiquitous Computing

Department: Informatics
Email: gillianrh@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-1483
Office: DBH 5084
Learn more
photo::Mimi Ito Mimi Ito
Professor in Residence
Department: Informatics
Email: mizukoi@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9011
Office: DBH 5054
Learn more
photo::James Jones James A. Jones
Associate Professor
Research Area: Software Engineering
Department: Informatics
Email: jajones@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-0942
Office: DBH 5214
Learn more
photo::David Kay David G. Kay
Senior Lecturer SOE
Department: Informatics
Email: kay@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5072
Office: DBH 5056
Learn more
photo::Alfred Kobsa Alfred Kobsa
Professor
Research Area: Computer-Supported Cooperative Work
Human Computer Interaction
Medical Informatics
Ubiquitous Computing

Department: Informatics
Email: kobsa@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 485-5020
Office: DBH 6091
Learn more
photo::Cristina Lopes Cristina V. Lopes
Professor
Research Area: Programming Languages and Systems
Software Engineering
Ubiquitous Computing

Department: Informatics
Email: lopes@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-1525
Office: DBH 5224
Learn more
photo::Sam Malek Sam Malek
Associate Professor
Research Area: Software Engineering
Department: Informatics
Email: malek@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-0639
Office: DBH 5226
Learn more
photo::Gloria Mark Gloria Mark
Professor
Research Area: Computer-Supported Cooperative Work
Human Computer Interaction
Social Informatics

Department: Informatics
Email: gmark@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5955
Office: DBH 5212
Learn more
photo::Melissa Mazmanian Melissa Mazmanian
Associate Professor
Department: Informatics
Email: mmazmani@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9284
Office: DBH 5092
Learn more
photo::Bonnie Nardi Bonnie Nardi
Professor
Research Area: Computer-Supported Cooperative Work
Social Informatics

Department: Informatics
Email: nardi@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6534
Office: DBH 5088
Learn more
photo::Emily Navarro Emily Navarro
Lecturer
Department: Informatics
Email: emilyo@uci.edu
Phone:
Office: DBH 5221
Learn more
photo::Judy Olson Judy Olson
Bren Professor of Information & Computer Sciences
Research Area: Computer-Supported Cooperative Work
Human Computer Interaction

Department: Informatics
Email: jsolson@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-0080
Office: DBH 5206
Learn more
photo::Gary Olson Gary M. Olson
Bren Professor of Information & Computer Sciences
Research Area: Computer-Supported Cooperative Work
Human Computer Interaction
Social Informatics

Department: Informatics
Email: golson@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-0077
Office: DBH 5202
Learn more
photo::Richard Pattis Richard E Pattis
Senior Lecturer SOE
Department: Computer Science
Email: pattis@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2704
Office: DBH 4062
Learn more
photo::David Redmiles David Redmiles
Professor, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Research Area: Computer-Supported Cooperative Work
Human Computer Interaction
Software Engineering

Department: Informatics
Email: redmiles@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-3823
Office: DBH 5232
Learn more
photo::Debra Richardson Debra J. Richardson
Professor Emeritus
Research Area: Software Engineering
Department: Informatics
Email: djr@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-7353
Office: DBH 5241
Learn more
photo::Bonnie Ruberg Bonnie Ruberg
Assistant Professor
Department: Informatics
Email: bruberg@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-1588
Office: DBH 5058
Learn more
photo::Katie Salen Tekinbas Katie Salen Tekinbas
Professor
Department: Informatics
Email: ksalen@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5837
Office: DBH 5068
Learn more
photo::Kurt Squire Kurt Squire
Professor
Research Area: Social Informatics
Department: Informatics
Email: ksquire@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9045
Office: DBH 5064
Learn more
photo::Constance Steinkuehler Constance Steinkuehler
Professor
Research Area: Social Informatics
Department: Informatics
Email: const@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8716
Office: DBH 5066
Learn more
photo::Joshua Tanenbaum Joshua G. Tanenbaum
Assistant Professor
Department: Informatics
Email: tanenbaj@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-7078
Office: DBH 5052
Learn more
photo::Richard Taylor Richard Taylor
Chancellor's Professor Emeritus, Director, Institute for Software Research
Research Area: Computer-Supported Cooperative Work
Networks and Distributed Systems
Software Engineering

Department: Informatics
Email: taylor@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6429
Office: DBH 5216
Learn more
photo::Bill Tomlinson Bill Tomlinson
Professor
Research Area: Computer Graphics and Visualization
Environmental Informatics
Human Computer Interaction
Ubiquitous Computing

Department: Informatics
Email: wmt@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2901
Office: DBH 5068
Learn more
photo::Aaron Trammell Aaron Trammell
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Social Informatics
Department: Informatics
Email: trammell@uci.edu
Phone: (732) 673-3879
Office: DBH 5048
Learn more
photo::Andre van der Hoek Andre van der Hoek
Professor and Chair, Department of Informatics
Research Area: Software Engineering
Department: Informatics
Email: ichair@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6326
Office: DBH 5038
Learn more
photo::Kai Zheng Kai Zheng
Associate Professor
Research Area: Human Computer Interaction
Medical Informatics

Department: Informatics
Email: kai.zheng@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6920
Office: DBH 6095
Learn more
photo::Hadar Ziv Hadar Ziv
Lecturer/ Asst. Project Scientist
Department: Informatics
Email: ziv@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2901
Office: DBH 5062
Learn more