Facts and figures
  • Only computing-focused school in UC system
  • Founded in 1968 as Department of Information and Computer Science
  • Established in 2002 as an independent school, the Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences (ICS)
  • US News & World Report (2022)
    #14 Computer Science graduate program and #12 Computer Science undergraduate program among public universities
     #9 Software Engineering undergraduate program
    #18 Statistics graduate program among public universities
  • Microsoft Academic Search website ranking of authors and organizations by citations (as of March 11, 2014)
    UC Irvine 20th among U.S. universities in computer science. Some top subareas:
    - Human-computer interaction: 4th
    - Software engineering: 9th
    - Databases: 8th

Thumbnail - This is the pdf download


3,100+ undergraduate students in seven majors

  • Computer Science
  • Data Science
  • Informatics
  • Software Engineering 
  • Game Design and Interactive Media 
  • Business Information Management (joint with the Paul Merage School of Business)
  • Computer Science & Engineering (joint with the Henry Samueli School of Engineering)

530+ graduate students

  • Computer Science (M.S., Ph.D.)
  • Informatics: (M.S., Ph.D.)
  • Software Engineering: (M.S., Ph.D.)
  • Statistics: (M.S., Ph.D.)
  • Networked Systems: (M.S., Ph.D.)

Professional Master Programs

350+ professional master's students

  • Master of Computer Science
  • Master of Data Science 
  • Master of Embedded and Cyber-Physical Systems
  • Master of Human-Computer Interaction and Design
  • Master of Software Engineering


Our faculty

  • 2 members of the National Academy of Engineering: Michael Carey (2012), Judy Olson (2018)
  • 10 Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS): Pierre Baldi, Geoffrey Bowker, Rina Dechter, Paul Dourish, David Eppstein, Michael Franz, Michael Goodrich, Ramesh Jain, Eric Mjolsness, Annie Qu, Padhraic Smyth, Hal Stern, Gene Tsudik, Jessica Utts
  • 14 Fellows of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM): Pierre Baldi, Michael Carey, Rena Dechter, Paul Dourish, Nikil Dutt, David Eppstein, Michael Franz, Michael Goodrich, Ramesh Jain, Gary Olson, Judy Olson, Padhraic Smyth, Richard Taylor, Gene Tsudik
  • 11 Fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE): Pierre Baldi, Michael Carey, Nikil Dutt, Michael Franz, Michael Goodrich, Ramesh Jain, Crista Lopes, Sharad Mehrotra, Alexandru Nicolau, Marios Papaefthymiou, Gene Tsudik
  • 7 Fellows of the American Statistical Association (ASA): Veronica Berrocal, Daniel Gillen, Wesley Johnson, Hernando Ombao, Babak Shahbaba, Hal Stern, Jessica Utts
  • 2 members of Academia Europaea: Alex Nicolau  (2018) and Gene Tsudik
  • 1 foreign member of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences & Letters: Michael Goodrich (2018)
  • 2 elected members of International Statistical Institute: Bin Nan, Annie Qu
  • 1 member of the Board of Directors for the Computer Research Association (CRA): Gillian Hayes
  • 2 Mercator Fellowships from the German Research Foundation: Alfred Kobsa, Stephan Mandt
  • ACM Charles P. "Chuck" Thacker Breakthrough in Computing Award: Michael Franz

Our alumni

  • Roy Fielding (B.S. '88, M.S. '93, Ph.D. '00) primary architect of HTTP/1.1
  • Paul Mockapetris (Ph.D. '82) inventor of the Domain Name System (DNS)
  • Larry Rowe (B.S. '70, PhD '76) professor emeritus, UC Berkeley
  • Barbara Kew (B.S. '75) CIO of Hill-Rom (medical technology)
  • Tim Kashani (B.S. '86) CEO of IT Mentors and Tony Award-winning
  • Cybersecurity Policy & Research Institute
  • Intel Science and Technology Center for Social Computing
  • Institute for Future Health
  • Institute for Genomics and Bioinformatics
  • Institute for Software Research
  • Institute for Virtual Environments and Computer Games
  • Center for Algorithms and Theory of Computation
  • Center for Emergency Response Technologies
  • Center for Machine Learning and Intelligent Systems
  • Laboratory for Ubiquitous Computing and Interaction 
  • Secure Computing and Networking Center
  • ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) - UC Irvine Chapter
  • Hack
  • ICS Student Council (ICSSC)
  • Management Information Student Society (MAISS)
  • Video Game Development Club (VGDC)
  • Women in Information and Computer Sciences (WICS)

CAE Logo
CPRI is an NSA-Designated Center for Excellence in Cybersecurity in Research (CAE-R).