Faculty

Faculty members in the Bren School are of national and international renown, including ACM and IEEE Fellows, AAAI Career Fellow and many respected authors, leaders and directors of preeminent research and academic endeavors.

Despite an exhaustive list of accolades, the most notable trait of each faculty member is the unparalleled commitment to teaching and instruction as demonstrated in the classroom.

The Bren School is recruiting faculty at all levels of tenure. For information on faculty opportunities, please visit the employment page.


A| B| C| D| E| F| G| H| I| J| K| L| M| N| O| P| Q| R| S| T| U| V| W| X| Y| Z|

Computer Science | Informatics | Statistics | Complete list

alfaro
photo::Shannon Alfaro
Shannon Alfaro
Continuing Lecturer
Department: Computer Science
Email: alfaro@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9544
Office: DBH 4208
Learn more
ardalan
photo::Ardalan Amiri Sani
Ardalan Amiri Sani
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Embedded Systems
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: ardalan@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6753
Office: DBH 3206
Learn more
pfbaldi
photo::Pierre Baldi
Pierre Baldi
Distinguished Professor, Director Institute for Genomics and Bioinformatics
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Biomedical Informatics and Computational Biology
Databases and Data Mining
Environmental Informatics
Statistics and Statistical Theory

Department: Computer Science
Email: pfbaldi@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5809
Office: DBH 4038
Learn more
lbic
photo::Lubomir Bic
Lubomir Bic
Professor
Research Area: Networks and Distributed Systems
Department: Computer Science
Email: bic@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5248
Office: DBH 3224
Learn more
ebozorgz
photo::Elaheh (Eli) Bozorgzadeh
Elaheh (Eli) Bozorgzadeh
Professor
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Department: Computer Science
Email: eli@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8860
Office: DBH 3092
Learn more
aburtsev
photo::Anton Burtsev
Anton Burtsev
Assistant Adjunct Professor
Research Area: Operating Systems
Department: Computer Science
Email: aburtsev@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6753
Office: DBH 3066
Learn more
mjcarey
photo::Michael Carey
Michael J Carey
Distinguished Professor / Bren Professor of ICS
Research Area: Databases and Data Mining
Department: Computer Science
Email: mjcarey@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2302
Office: DBH 2091
Learn more
alfchen
photo::Qi Alfred Chen
Qi Alfred Chen
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Security and Privacy
Department: Computer Science
Email: alfchen@uci.edu
Phone: (949)-824-7865
Office: DBH 3204
Learn more
dechter
photo::Rina Dechter
Rina Dechter
Chancellor's Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Department: Computer Science
Email: dechter@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6556
Office: DBH 4232
Learn more
mbdillen
photo::Michael Dillencourt
Michael Dillencourt
Professor
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: dillenco@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-7556
Office: DBH 4086
Learn more
dutt
photo::Nikil Dutt
Nikil Dutt
Distinguished Professor
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Embedded Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: dutt@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-7219
Office: DBH 3091
Learn more
elzarki
photo::Magda El Zarki
Magda El Zarki
Professor
Research Area: Multimedia Computing
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: elzarki@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 228-8584
Office: DBH 3216
Learn more
eppstein
photo::David Eppstein
David Eppstein
Chancellor's Professor
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Computer Graphics and Visualization

Department: Computer Science
Email: eppstein@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6384
Office: DBH 4082
Learn more
fowlkes
photo::Charless Fowlkes
Charless Fowlkes
Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Biomedical Informatics and Computational Biology
Computer Vision

Department: Computer Science
Email: fowlkes@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6945
Office: DBH 4076
Learn more
franz
photo::Michael Franz
Michael Franz
Chancellor's Professor, Director: Secure Systems and Languages Laboratory
Research Area: Programming Languages and Systems
Security and Privacy
Software Engineering

Department: Computer Science
Email: franz@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-0016
Office: ICS 444
Learn more
sgagomas
photo::Sergio Gago-Masague
Sergio Gago-Masague
Assistant Professor of Teaching
Research Area: Pervasive Computing
User-centric Software Design
Human Computer Interaction
Serious Games

Department: Computer Science
Email: sergio.gago@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-1925
Office: DBH 3208
Learn more
igassko
photo::Irene Gassko
Irene Gassko
Lecturer
Department: Computer Science
Email: igassko@uci.edu
Phone:
Office: ICS 424
Learn more
givargis
photo::Tony Givargis
Tony Givargis
Professor; Vice Chair of Undergraduate Studies, Computer Science
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Embedded Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: givargis@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9357
Office: DBH 3076
Learn more
goodrich
photo::Michael Goodrich
Michael T. Goodrich
Chancellor's Professor
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Computer Graphics and Visualization

Department: Computer Science
Email: goodrich@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9366
Office: DBH 4091
Learn more
iharris
photo::Ian Harris
Ian G. Harris
Professor
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Embedded Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: harris@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8842
Office: DBH 3088
Learn more
whayes
photo::Wayne Hayes
Wayne B Hayes
Associate Professor
Research Area: Biomedical Informatics and Computational Biology
Computer Vision
Scientific and Numerical Computing

Department: Computer Science
Email: whayes@uci.edu
Phone: 9498241753
Office: DBH 4092
Learn more
dhirschb
photo::Daniel Hirschberg
Daniel S. Hirschberg
Professor, Irvine Senate Parliamentarian
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Department: Computer Science
Email: dan@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6480
Office: DBH 4226
Learn more
aihler
photo::Alexander Ihler
Alexander Ihler
Associate Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Department: Computer Science
Email: ihler@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-3645
Office: DBH 4066
Learn more
ssirani
photo::Sandy Irani
Sandy Irani
Professor; Vice Chair Computing Division, Computer Science
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Department: Computer Science
Email: irani@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6346
Office: DBH 4042
Learn more
rcjain
photo::Ramesh Jain
Ramesh Jain
Distinguished Professor / Bren Professor of ICS
Research Area: Computer Vision
Multimedia Computing

Department: Computer Science
Email: jain@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-0133
Office: DBH 3222
Learn more
sjarecki
photo::Stanislaw Jarecki
Stanislaw Jarecki
Professor
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Department: Computer Science
Email: stasio@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8878
Office: DBH 4026
Learn more
sjordan
photo::Scott Jordan
Scott Jordan
Professor
Research Area: Networks and Distributed Systems
Department: Computer Science
Email: sjordan@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2177
Office: DBH 3214
Learn more
swjun
photo::Sang-Woo Jun
Sang-Woo Jun
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Computer Systems Architecture
Hardware Acceleration
and Non-Volatile Memory

Department: Computer Science
Email: swjun@uci.edu
Phone:
Office: DBH 3072
Learn more
kay
photo::David Kay
David G. Kay
Senior Lecturer SOE
Department: Informatics
Email: kay@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5072
Office: DBH 5056
Learn more
dfkibler
photo::Dennis Kibler
Dennis Kibler
Professor Emeritus
Department: Computer Science
Email: kibler@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6753
Office:
Learn more
klefstad
photo::Ray Klefstad
Ray Klefstad
Lecturer SOE
Research Area: Embedded Systems
Networks and Distributed Systems
Programming Languages and Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: klefstad@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6753
Office: ICS 424
Learn more
kobsa
photo::Alfred Kobsa
Alfred Kobsa
Professor
Research Area: Computer-Supported Cooperative Work
Human Computer Interaction
Medical Informatics
Ubiquitous Computing

Department: Informatics
Email: kobsa@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 485-5020
Office: DBH 6091
Learn more
rickl
photo::Richard Lathrop
Richard Lathrop
Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Biomedical Informatics and Computational Biology

Department: Computer Science
Email: rickl@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-4021
Office: DBH 4224
Learn more
levorato
photo::Marco  Levorato
Marco Levorato
Associate Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Networks and Distributed Systems
Statistics and Statistical Theory

Department: Computer Science
Email: levorato@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2175
Office: DBH 3212
Learn more
chenli
photo::Chen Li
Chen Li
Professor
Research Area: Databases and Text Processing
Department: Computer Science
Email: chenli@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9470
Office: DBH 2092
Learn more
lueker
photo::George Lueker
George S. Lueker
Professor Emeritus
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Department: Computer Science
Email: lueker@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6753
Office:
Learn more
majumder
photo::Aditi Majumder
Aditi Majumder
Professor
Research Area: Computer Graphics and Visualization
Computer Vision

Department: Computer Science
Email: majumder@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8877
Office: DBH 4056
Learn more
mandt
photo::Stephan Mandt
Stephan Mandt
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Department: Computer Science
Email: mandt@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6753
Office: DBH 4072
Learn more
gopi
photo::Gopi Meenakshisundaram
Gopi Meenakshisundaram
Professor, Assoc. Dean for Student Affairs
Research Area: Computer Graphics and Visualization
Computer Vision

Department: Computer Science
Email: gopi@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9498
Office: DBH 4212
Learn more
smehrotr
photo::Sharad Mehrotra
Sharad Mehrotra
Professor
Research Area: Databases and Data Mining
Multimedia Computing
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: sharad@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5975
Office: DBH 2082
Learn more
emj
photo::Eric Mjolsness
Eric Mjolsness
Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Biomedical Informatics and Computational Biology
Computer Vision
Scientific and Numerical Computing

Department: Computer Science
Email: emj@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-3533
Office: DBH 6082
Learn more
anicolau
photo::Alexandru Nicolau
Alexandru Nicolau
Distinguished Professor, Department Chair
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Embedded Systems
Programming Languages and Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: nicolau@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-4079
Office: DBH 3082
Learn more
marios
photo::Marios Papaefthymiou
Marios Papaefthymiou
Ted and Janice Smith Family Foundation Dean and Professor of Computer Science
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: marios@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-7405
Office: DBH 6215
Learn more
pattis
photo::Richard Pattis
Richard E Pattis
Senior Lecturer SOE
Department: Computer Science
Email: pattis@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2704
Office: DBH 4062
Learn more
aregan
photo::Amelia Regan
Amelia C. Regan
Professor
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: aregan@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2611
Office: DBH 4068
Learn more
isaac
photo::Isaac Scherson
Isaac D. Scherson
Professor
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Embedded Systems
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: isaac@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8144
Office: ICS 464C
Learn more
sameer
photo::Sameer Singh
Sameer Singh
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Databases and Data Mining
Scientific and Numerical Computing

Department: Computer Science
Email: sameer@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6753
Office: DBH 4204
Learn more
pjsmyth
photo::Padhraic Smyth
Padhraic Smyth
Chancellor's Professor, Director, UCI's Data Science Initiative
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Databases and Data Mining
Scientific and Numerical Computing
Statistics and Statistical Theory

Department: Computer Science
Email: smyth@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-2558
Office: DBH 4216
Learn more
standish
photo::Thomas Standish
Thomas A. Standish
Professor Emeritus
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Department: Computer Science
Email: standish@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 497-3064
Office: DBH 3029
Learn more
sudderth
photo::Erik Sudderth
Erik Sudderth
Associate Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Computer Vision
Statistics and Statistical Theory

Department: Computer Science
Email: sudderth@uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-8169
Office: DBH 4028
Learn more
thornton
photo::Alex Thornton
Alex Thornton
Continuing Lecturer
Department: Computer Science
Email: thornton@ics.uci.edu
Phone:
Office: DBH 4048
Learn more
gtsudik
photo::Gene Tsudik
Gene Tsudik
Chancellor's Professor; Vice Chair of Graduate Studies, Computer Science
Research Area: Security
Privacy and Cryptography

Department: Computer Science
Email: gts@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-3410
Office: ICS 458E
Learn more
vazirani
photo::Vijay Vazirani
Vijay Vazirani
Distinguished Professor
Research Area: Algorithms and Complexity
Scientific and Numerical Computing

Department: Computer Science
Email: vazirani@uci.edu
Phone:
Office: DBH 4032
Learn more
aveidenb
photo::Alexander Veidenbaum
Alexander Veidenbaum
Professor
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Databases and Data Mining
Programming Languages and Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: alexv AT ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-6188
Office: DBH 3056
Learn more
nalini
photo::Nalini Venkatasubramanian
Nalini Venkatasubramanian
Professor
Research Area: Multimedia Computing
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: nalini@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-5898
Office: DBH 2086
Learn more
jwongma
photo::Jennifer Wong-Ma
Jennifer Wong-Ma
Lecturer with Security of Employment
Research Area: Computer Architecture and Design
Systems programming
Embedded Systems
Networks and Distributed Systems

Department: Computer Science
Email: jennifer.wongma@uci.edu
Phone: (949)824-3328
Office: DBH 3062
Learn more
zhenpinw
photo::Zhenping Wu
Zhenping Wu
Lecturer
Department: Computer Science
Email: zhenpinw@uci.edu
Phone:
Office: ICS 424
Learn more
xhx
photo::Xiaohui Xie
Xiaohui Xie
Professor
Research Area: Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning
Biomedical Informatics and Computational Biology
Medical Informatics

Department: Computer Science
Email: xhx@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-9289
Office: DBH 4058
Learn more
shz
photo::Shuang Zhao
Shuang Zhao
Assistant Professor
Research Area: Computer Graphics and Visualization
Department: Computer Science
Email: shz@ics.uci.edu
Phone: (949) 824-4942
Office: DBH 4214
Learn more