The Group


Current Members

  Nalini Venkatasubramanian
Professor, Information and Computer Science
Reasearch areas: concurrent/distributed systems, reflective and adaptive middleware, Internet-of-things, cyberphysical systems, smart resilient communities, middleware for pervasive and mobile computing environments, multimedia systems and applications.
  Kyungbaek Kim
Faculty Visitor
Reasearch areas: distributed networks and systems.
  Cheng-Hsin Hsu
Faculty Visitor
Reasearch areas: multimedia networking, mobile computing, broadcast/wireless networks, Internet-of-Things (IoT), networked games, cloud/fog computing, and computer networks.
  Nailah Alhassoun
Ph.D. Student
Reasearch areas: Energy optimization in IoT platforms for safe and resilient communities, middleware for pervasive and mobile computing environments, Distributed systems.
  Hang Nguyen
Ph.D. Student
Reasearch areas: middleware, distributed system, IoT, computer network database, data mining, algorithm design.
  Praveen Venkateswaran
Ph.D. Student
Reasearch areas: leveraging in-situ and mobile Internet of Things (IoT) devices to build resilient and secure edge computing and data processing architectures for Cyber-Physical Systems.
  Guoxi Wang
Ph.D. Student
Reasearch areas: software-defined networking (SDN) and network security.
  Fangqi Liu
Ph.D. Student
Reasearch areas: data collection and exchange in Internet of Things (IoT), mobile wireless network, drones.
  Tung-Chun Chang
Ph.D. Student
Reasearch areas: Internet of Things, wireless networking, and social networks.
  Andrew Genwi Chio
Ph.D. Student
Reasearch areas: simulations, data generation, inverse problems using Internet of Things.
  Modeste Mefenya Kenne
Ph.D. Student
Reasearch areas: Networked Systems, Internet of Things, Smart Resilient Communities, Cyber-physical Systems.

  • Ranga Raj (Ph.D. Student)
  • Andrew Yang (B.S. Student)


  •   Georgios Bouloukakis (Postdoctoral, 2020)
      Qing Han (Ph.D. 2019)
  •   Yusuf Sarwar (Postdoctoral, 2019)
  •   Qiuxi Zhu (Ph.D. 2019)
  •   Kyle Benson (Ph.D. 2019)
  • Prateek Swamy (M.S. Student)
  • Yoon Kyung Shon (M.S. Student)
  • Han Gia Pham (B.S. Student)
  • Taylor Arin Caulfield (B.S. Student)
  • Phu Huu Nguyen (M.S. 2015)
  • Zhijing Qin (Ph.D. 2015, Senior Software Engineer, Pinterest Inc.)
  • Ye Zhao (Ph.D. 2014, Staff Member, Google Inc.)
  • Reza Rahimi (Ph.D. 2014, Research Staff Member, Samsung Research Labs)
  • Do Minh Ngoc (Ph.D. 2014, Senior Staff Member, Arista Networks Inc.)
  • Kyungbaek Kim (Postdoctoral 2012, Assistant Professor, Chonnam National University, Korea)
  • Xiujuan Yi (M.S. 2012)
  • Leila Jalali (Ph.D. 2012, Engineering Manager, Google Inc.)
  • Jehan Wickramasuriya (Ph.D. Principal Research Engineer, Motorola Research Labs)
  • Bo Xing (Ph.D. 2009, Ericsson Research)
  • Daniel Massaguer (Ph.D. 2009, Postdoctoral Researcher, UCI)
  • Vidhya Balasubramanian (Ph.D. 2009, Assistant Professor, Amrita University, India)
  • Hojjat Jafarpour (Ph.D. 2009, NEC Lab)
  • Yun Huang (Ph.D. 2008, CMU)
  • Minyoung Kim (Ph.D. 2008, Research Sceintist, SRI International)
  • Kyoungwoo Lee (Ph.D. 2008, Assistant Professor, Yonsei University, Korea)
  • Mayur Deshpande (Ph.D. 2007, Google Inc.)
  • Qi Han (Ph.D. 2006, Associate Professor, Colorado School of Mines)
  • Shivajit Mohapatra (Ph.D. 2006, Motorola Research Labs)
  • Sebastian Gutierrez-Nolasco (Ph.D. 2007, NASA Ames Research Center)
  • Jonathan Cristoforetti (M.S. 2007, Google Inc.)
  • Jinsu Wang (M.S. 2007, Ernst Young Inc.)
  • Humeyra Altintas (M.S. 2006)
  • Bhaskar Chatterjee (M.S. 2006)
  • Zhenghua Fu (M.S. 2006, Pelco Lab)
  • Suraj Nagasrinivasa (M.S. 2005)
  • Xiaoping Wei (M.S. 2005, CNET Networks)
  • Henry Yan (M.S. 2005)
  • Xing Zheng (M.S. 2005, Samsung)
  • Mark Panahi (M.S. 2004)

Collaborators and Visitors

  • Cheng-Hsin Hsu (Associate Professor, National Tsing Hua University)
  • Kyungbaek Kim (Associate Professor, Chonnam National University)
  • Roman Vitenberg (Professor, University of Oslo)
  • Aiman Erbad (Assistant Professor, Qatar University)
  • Yong-Jin Lee, (Professor, Korea National University of Education)
  • Alfredo Weitzenfeld (Professor, Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México)
  • Dan Hoffman (Chief Innovation Officer, Montgomery County, MD)
  • Yi-Ying Huang (Visiting Graduate Student from National Tsing Hua University)
  • Meng-Wei Lee (Visiting Graduate Student from National Tsing Hua University)
  • Shu-Ting Wang (Visiting Graduate Student from National Tsing Hua University)

Distributed Systems Middleware Group - School of Information and Computer Sciences - University of California, Irvine
Bren Hall, Irvine, CA 92697, USA